Sony W800/B 20.1 MP Digital Camera (Black) Reviews

/ by / Tags: , , , , , ,

Sony DSCW800/B 20.1 MP Digital Camera (Black)

  • MP Super HAD CCD sensor for beautifully detailed images
  • Sony Lens w/ 5x Optical Zoom
  • Reduced blur with SteadyShot Image stabilization
  • Capture your videos in 720p HD Movie mode
  • Simplify camera menu with Easy Mode.
  • Super HAD CCD 20.1 MP sensor
  • Sony Lens with F3.2 (W) - 6.4 (T) Maximum Aperture
  • Focal length: f=4.6-23 mm
  • 5x Optical Zoom
  • Maximum Continuous Shooting Speed: 0.52 fps (for up to 100 shots)
Sony DSCW800/B 20.1 MP Digital Camera with 2.7-Inch LCD (black)

List Price: $ 89.99 Price:


SVP Aqua 5500 ( Blue ) 18 MP Dual Screen Waterproof Digital Camera

  • Dual color screens; 2.7" LCD display in the back and a 1.8" TFT color display in the front
  • The battery provided with the unit is solely for testing purposes. We recommend using high capacity AAA batteries to get best results.
  • 18 Megapixels with 4x digital zoom,Waterproof digital camera with video
  • Compatible with Win XP / Vista / Win 7 and Mac OS x 10.6.8 or above. Compatible with Micro SD card ONLY ; supports up to 32GB external memory card
  • Due to the small screen, images may appear out of focus when they actually are. We recommend viewing the images on a computer for best results.
The SVP Aqua 5800 Waterproof Digital Camera features a dual color display with 4x digital zoom. The 1.8 inch front TFT color display is large enough to allow you to see yourself in the shot before taking the picture. 2.7 inch rear LCD display provides easy viewing of the photos. It is a 18 Megapixel camera with a 8.5mm lens. Easy to use and is suitable for any trip! It also does not stop you from capturing the perfect moments underwater! The camera supports up to 32GB of Micro SD card and is com

List Price: $ 54.99 Price: $ 52.98


Related Cameras Products


6 thoughts on “Sony W800/B 20.1 MP Digital Camera (Black) Reviews

  1. Muttley
    268 of 271 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    A good snapshot device for its price…, August 28, 2014
    By 
    Muttley
    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Sony W800/B 20.1 MP Digital Camera (Black) (Electronics)
    I am an amateur photographer and own three DSLR cameras with a selection of lenses. However that collection does not eliminate the need for a handy item for just daily needs. I keep this one especially in my car’s glove box as a reserve for occasions which require something better than my cell phone camera. For that purpose it meets my expectations and even exceeds it. Yet, this is still a snap shot device with a relatively low price tag and therefore a DSLR level quality (like background blurring, high shutter speed, high level of low light performance etc.)should not be expected.

    Pros:

    -Lightweight slim and stylish design: It can fit in small spaces and look and feel like a high quality item.

    -USB charging ability: That is one of the selling points for me. I keep it in my car and I don’t want to run out of power any time or go through the hassle of removing the battery and charging it separately ,which requires carrying the charging adapter all the time and also the ability to plug in that adapter. Instead. all I do is to connect it to my 12V car USB charger and it pretty quickly accumulates good amount of charge level… It comes with a wall adapter (5V 0.5A) which connects to a detachable USB cable (so you can use the cable and attach it to any USB charger). But be careful about the USB cable. The standard USB-micro B cable that charges most mobile devices do not work for this type. If you need a replacement or an extra you need to buy a USB-UC E6 cable.

    -Easy menu mode: Practicality should be the main focus in a snapshot device and even my grandfather could get through this menu. One of the most user-friendly interfaces I have seen so far.

    -Panoramic shoot ability: That was a surprise for me. I had not read the product description in detail before buying and that was such a handy function. I used to take panoramic photos by taking tens of photos with my DSLR and stiching them with a software which was both difficult and time consuming. This function does it instantly and produces comparable quality photos.

    -5X optical zoom: When it comes to zooming, in photographic terms, the less is often more. The best lenses even come with no zoom at all. However for a practical item like this, zoom is essential and 5X is a good range for the optical zoom (it is also critical that you compare the optical zoom capacities of devices and not the digital zoom before making a judgement.)

    -Image quality: As I said above, it does not match the quality of a DSLR and I don’t care about the high pixel size either. For cameras with small sensor sizes like snapshots, it is actually better to get a low MP device for sharper images, but this one not bad at all especially in daylight. HD Video quality is also good but again depends on the light…

    -Price: the $78 price tag as of august 2014 makes it one of the most affordable snapshot cameras in the market. You can get better deals from time to time but this is quite appealing too.

    Cons:

    -Low light performance: Again, I want to stress that I am not expecting professional quality from this device, but I found the low light performance moderate at best. The noise was somewhat irritating even with flash.

    -Slow shutter speed: It has a continuous shooting mode which is supposed to take multiple frames in a short time as long as the shutter button is depressed. However this device has a long long refractory period between shoots that it is not even worth bothering with that mode. You need to decrease the image quality 3 steps to be able to notice some multiple shooting effect and that is not worth it. So if you wish to take a photo of a flying bird or a running person or a passing by car, you don’t have much choice to take multiple photos and decide later.

    -Zoom buttons: I like the zoom to be a ring style beneath the shutter button but this is like a plus and minus at the back which is not very convenient.

    -No optical viewfinder: This is not a problem for this model only. Most recent cameras sacrifice from an optical viewfinder and all you get is a digital image on the screen to help you adjust your photo before taking it. First of all it does not give the sense of taking a photo but more importantly digital screen viewfinder drains battery and also performs bad in bright light.

    -Video focusing sound: While recording video of a closely located object (where there is a constant need to re-adjust autofocusing) and if the surrounding is silent, you can hear the sound of focus adjustments in your recording. But as I said that is only obvious in full silence and for short distance recordings.

    Overall you like it or not depends on your expectations. For me it is a handy and adequately performing device with quite useful features. I am happy with this purchase

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  2. Josh.O
    326 of 333 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Great camera, had an issue but Amazon’s great customer service solved it painlessly., August 6, 2014
    By 
    Josh.O

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Sony W800/B 20.1 MP Digital Camera (Black) (Electronics)
    I wasn’t expecting much from this, I only wanted a camera that was a) cheap and b) would provide a better quality image than the average smart phone camera. But the image quality is truly amazing. I will upload a few customer images of my hiking trip as an example. An SD card is absolutely necessary, the internal storage can only hold 3 maximum quality images.

    I did have one problem with the camera, the battery that came with it refused to take a charge. Amazon made up for this by offering me a 40% refund to buy a new battery, and the battery was much cheaper than the $31 refund I got so this issue wasn’t even reason enough to take a star off. Overall great camera and great customer service from Amazon.

    I’ve only owned this for a month and only used it for 2 days for a hiking trip so I can’t speak on long term survival of this camera. I will update my review if I have any other issues. Be sure to check for my customer images if you want an idea of the maximum image quality.

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  3. Jhonny L.
    212 of 222 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    Great Camera!, April 22, 2014
    By 

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    This review is from: Sony W800/B 20.1 MP Digital Camera (Black) (Electronics)
    This my second Sony Digital Camera. The first was a 14.1 MP and I can say less than $80 for this 20.1 MP, you can’t find it anywhere else! It functions very well. It can take pictures even in the darkest place. I would recommend it to anyone who needs a good camera for a good price!

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  4. Carl W. Warford
    241 of 252 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Do your homework and you will love this camera, June 11, 2013
    By 
    Carl W. Warford (nebraska) –
    (REAL NAME)
      

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    Much like you are doing now, i did read reviews about this camera before ordering. I wanted a waterproof camera to use on a vacation to Cancun. We have a very nice Cannon, but i knew we would snorkel and such so I wanted something cheaper we could use for that.

    This camera turned out to be awesome for us. It is exactly what it says. We took many pictures above and below the water with this and nearly all turned out great. First, it does not have great image stabilization. The object in the pic can be moving, but not the camera. Its a $50 camera, so what do you expect. Admittedly the window is not bright enough to see well outdoors, and the resolution on the window is not good either. However, it is still an 18 MP camera. When we transferred the pics to our PC, they are much better than expected. it does record video but the resolution is not good (SVGA).

    Understanding a cameras limits on power, we did purchase lithium batteries for it as designed. We took 108 pictures (all in high sunlight so no flash was used) but we still had 3/4 left on the batteries. I never changed them out on our 5 day trip and still have plenty left. It did come with cheap batteries, but we did not use them. I sure it would not have gone well.

    I have no problem opening the door, i just read the instructions. push the lock while sliding. Opened right up and we were set.

    All in all, if you are apprehensive because of a few of the reviews, please let me say this this camera took our 10th anniversary pictures and these were the best of the bunch because we took them in and on the water where we could not take our other camera, and you cant tell the difference between the two when we look at them on the PC.

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  5. ELF
    215 of 228 people found the following review helpful
    4.0 out of 5 stars
    It’s a good secondary camera, October 29, 2012
    By 
    ELF

    I give it 4 stars because I bought mine for a specific purpose and it works for me but if you want it as your primary camera I wouldn’t recommend it. I would buy it if I already have a good camera at home but I need a tough one to take to the beach, raffting, snokeling… (up to 3 meters so if you want it for scuba diving, this is not the camera for you)
    The batteries don’t last much but you can fix the problem buying litium batteries.
    Best about the camera: It’s very light, tough, cheap ( I only paid 35 dollars, the price of 3 one-time-use cameras) and you can take it everywhere.
    Worst: Batteries AAA won’t last, slow flash and pictures are just OK.
    Mine came with a pair of batteries and a case. The memory card wasn’t included.
    I hope it helps!

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

  6. Bajan Living
    56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Works well for price!, June 25, 2013
    By 

    Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
    Used it yesterday for the first time! Got some pretty good shots – at least I think so. Only thing I would say is that it is difficult to see the screen under water so it was point, shoot and hope I get what I want in the pic!

    0

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes
    No

Comments are closed.